What to Breed

brogdenelian

Hi guys,

I am relatively new to the hobby (approx 2 years) and have a community tank of Malawi's that has given me some experience on stripping fish, tumbling, raising fry etc.

What started with 1 x Aqua Grande 6ft tank has now progressed to three other tanks (I know...I've been bitten and I need a bigger house!).

Anyway, I am interested in breeding a particular species in a separate tank and was hoping to use the proceeds to build some credit with the LFS or to sell on ACE.

Can anyone tell me what species of Africans will give me the best return on investment, as opposed to the $5 per fish that I might expect from the "Run of the mill" Mbuna species.

From what I can see it looks like Tropheus are one of the better choices. Is there anything else I should consider?

Look forward to your advice!

The problem with breeding for "the best return" is that the market on Cichlids is always changing, especially with so many new species being found and imported into the hobby here. Those that capitalise on the new flavour of the month will see the best return for a short period before the next best thing emerges. I have found over the years that any new species (especially Mbuna) have a high price tag for approx 12-18 months before they can be purchased almost anywhere and their value equals others in their genus due to everyone wanting to get on the gravy train. Some species are lost over the years too, what was common 10-15 years ago may now be rare as keepers move on to newer species & neglect others. This hikes prices up again in some cases (as I said market is always changing). Also Tropheus for eg: have very small clutches so the extra $ earnt really isn't any different then if you bred a run of the mill type anyway...