tanks/racks/sump-electricity-advice?

couchy

thumbup.gif Hi everyone, i'm relatively new to fish breeding(1.5-2 years) and at the start of the year i set up a rack of 5 odd sized tanks(whatever i had or got cheap), approx 850lr total running off a sump and 4900l/hr pump etc. etc.

As you all know and i found out, the electricity costs in my house have gone up considerably, far above mine and most importantly my wifes expectations. blush.gif

confused.gif My questions are regarding my second rack. I have 4 new tanks (3'x20"x20") with wiers all flowing to a home made sump waiting to be turned on. I was intending on waiting til winter's over to fire them up($$$$save) but of course have started up 2 tanks with OTB filters because i needed the space.

?? What drains the most electricity, Pumping or heating? Any ideas on reducing costs would be appreciated. I guess the pumping is inevitable and i think the next step is to heat the room, if so which is the cheapest way to do this.

My whole set up is based on only 2 others i've seen. so looking for expert guidance

thumbup.gif Cheers Couchy raisehand.gif

NO my tanks are in my garage, I've built a wall just inside garage door to reduce the temp loss but it's not insulated. blush.gif

Ged i use individual heaters (aquarium not room YET)

Heating the room, without insulation will cost just as much ultimately.

I guess the big cost factor is heat loss, as opposed to actually heating. That's all wasted power/money.

I would recommend NOT expanding before I had insulated the area your tanks are kept.

Insulation looks like a fair whack of money when you get a quote or 2, but when you see how much you save over the next 12 months you will realise how worthwhile it is.

People's comments are good.

If you want to know how much something is costing to run, look at the wattage on the item, approximately one watt = $1 per year to run. So a two hundred watt pump will cost about $200.00 per year to run.