Duboisi and Saulosi Dead

tanoz

Was wondering if anyone could help me.

Recently a t.duboisi just died and now my saulosi is dying. they are only 4cm in length and my water paramters are as they should be, ie ammonia and nitrite are 0 and nitrate <5ppm

They only recent change is that i cleaned the gravel using that sucking tool everyone uses. Any help?

further info that may help is that they are in a 220L tank with an ehiem 2215 and a aquaone 550 advance. Sr1200 air pump and 300watt heater set at 26degrees. Tank fish are 7 duboisi left and 2 saulosi left and about 5 lfn which are breeding.

thanks in advance

Did you check the water parameters before or after the gravel vac? Im no expert by any means, but if you checked before the gravel vac, maybe you sucked up or somehow killed the bacteria that is in the gravel, which may have then caused an ammonia spike?

This might be cause by different parasites that involves water change....

Most likely an Amonia spike as suggested earlier...

Best of luck with the rest mate.

thanks for all the replies. their symptoms are just that they eat alot less and just stay in one spot above the ground. eventually they get lower and lower and just lay on the ground breathing then die. I checked the parameters after the first fish died and nope i havent cleaned the filters yet. Was intending to change them when i upgrade by tank and it needs to be cycled. Im so confused as to why this is happening =S

once again thanks for trying to help

i was thinking bloat however no their poo is normal =s red because i feed them colour bits and occassionaly green when i feed them flakes for a few days. what other symptoms are their for bloat or perhaps u know a nice link on the forum that would help :)

Its not bloat.

My guess is that they where poisoned by poor water conditions. When you changed the water these condition were masked and didn't show on the testing.