Aqua Munch fish food

couchy

• 5 months later...

it seems very cheap but my experience is that the cost of making virutally any fish food is effectively next to nothing and the price point is based on a brand position rather than quality. so the only real way to test a food is to try it on your fish and see how they go. given the prices listed on ebay are so inexpensive its difficult to go wrong.

i want to give it a try aswell but i dont think that its any better than hikari. so i will probably stick with hikari pellets.

if anyone tries it, let me know if its anygood.

cheers

Well I've been using this for 2 months for my frontosas and the fish look well. They aren't breeding but they weren't before using this food. They stopped breeding a while ago when i relocated them to a smaller tank and water quality hasn't been as good as it should be. I've just done a large water change and clean out of their tank. So i'll see how they go.

To compare;

Aqua munch,

Ingredients: Fishmeal (min70%), wheatflour, soya bean meal, squid, aquamix, vitamins. Contains biomax. Added spirulina.

CRUDE ANALYSIS: Protein 45%, Fat 10%, Moisture 10%, ash max 11%

NLS,

MAIN INGREDIENTS: Krill Meal, Fish Meal, Wheat Flour, Amino Acids, Algae Meal, Soybean Meal, Fish Oil, Beta Carotene, Spirulina, Vitamin A Acetate, D-Activated Animal- Sterol (D3), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Niacin, Folic Acid, Calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Thiamine, Biotin.

GUARANTEED ANALYSIS: Protein 34% Min., Fat 5% Min., Fiber 5% Max., Ash 9% Max., Moisture 10% Max.

You be the judge?

The aquamunch ingredients are not as detailed as the NLS but stand up IMO.

Cheers Couchy :thumbup:

• 2 months later...

FYI - the ingredients shown above for NLS are from a rather old label.

Here's a more current list, and even this label is being upgraded which will reflect a few recent changes, one being NLS now contains zero soy.