Companion Fish for Tropheus moorii

PaulJ

HI,

I have some Trohpeuos Moorii and i wanted to put another species in with the tank, just to liven things up a bit. After some research on the web i have narrowed it down to these 3:

Neolamprologus Tretocephalus

Neolamprologus Sexfasciatus

Cyprichiomis Leptosoma

Does any one have any opinions on these options?

Regards,

Paul

Hi Paul,

I used to keep Tropheus for a few years and always kept them the cyprichromis species. The great advantage of Cyprichromis is that they swim in the upper and middle layer of the water, whereas Tropheus tend to stay around the bottom. I have no experience with the other species, so I can't comment at all. I think I remember hearing, though, that N. sexfasciatus is quite agressive, if that is really correct (someone else here might be able to comment) then they would be a poor choice for Tropheus.

I hope this helps a little. Have fun and enjoy your fishies (great choice :^: )

Hi Paul -

I'm of the opinion that Tropheus spp. (all of them) should be kept in species tanks (ie: alone).

However, I can strongly discourage either of the two Neolamprologus spp. you mention. Both can be extremely aggressive.

Hi Paul,

Out of those three I would be going with some type of leptosoma. Only if you have to. Maybe some more of the same trophues to fill the tank.

What type of moorii are the three you have?

Steve from WA will see your post and reply I am sure. He is keeping lost of tropheus and has had great successes mixing different localities of trophues not to sure if hehas mixed other cichlids with them.

Hi,

I figured i'd get a lot of people saying dont mix them :unsure

I probaly will eventualy seperate them into different tanks, but would like to have them in the same tank for now. I have a book on Tropheus and it actualy reccomends the Neolamprologus spp. so i'm glad i asked.

Thanks,

Paul