st george closing down need help

juzzo_5913

hey guys, so I live on the northern beaches in sydney and i dont know many of the areas out west as a p-plater. i have been going to st george in rockdale for a few years now, and they have been fantastic but i was told they were closing down and now i dont no what to do about getting new fish and all that I have a 4ft cichlids tank. (i wanted it for breeding but was unlucky all my femals started dying so i use it as a male tank now.) so the point of this topic is everything here on the beaches is way to expensive and they have nothing on africans. can you guys help me out with some new places out there that are just as good qulaity, a few mates have said theres places like www.livefish.com.au and they deliver but who can trust them and there prob more expensive. i am just learning to keep fish so take it easy on me with your answers haha.

Justin

Hi Justin

Yes sad news St George is closing I think around Mid November its the end of a era

There are two aquariums worth visiting closer to you One is reef aquariums at Hornsby Reef is owned by Anthony Ramsey former president of the nswcs and has a wealth on knowledge and the other Aquarium is at Asquith again good people with lots of knowledge to help you

Hope that helps

cheers

craig

p/s the new south wales cichlid society meets 1st saturday each month at moorebank I know it would be a bit of a drive but you are more than welcome to come along as a visitor and its a great place to gain knowledge and meet new friends

Aquaristic in Roseberry/Botany has an ok range of cichlids

Fishbowl At Carlton (10 mins down the rd from stgeorge) again has your bread and butter and sometime gets some rarer species.

Newton Aquarium Not a huge range but may aswell check it out

Auburn Aquarium Huge range, but not the cheapest.

Petcare 2000 store in Sutherland, good range of cichlids at reasonable prices