Americans in 3 Foot Tank

moez

I have no experience and have done no research on these species, but my general knowledge is they get a bit big for a 3 foot. i may be wrong.

How about south american dwarfes? apistogramma species are awesome but they can be a challenge to less experienced hobbyists, as some species can be sensitive and require more care than some. a few though are great for begginers.

Search em on google.

here are a few good species: Apistogramma cacautoides, apistogramma trifasciata, apisto agassizi, aisto borelli ect ect.

A pair of firemouths plus even say a another pair of smaller cichlid like Cryptoheros sajica, septemfaciatus, spilirus.... Nicaraguensis, Neets & Rainbow cichlids are also good candidates... Jack Dempsey 50/50 but because you are new to these fish you may definetely miss the tell tell signs of trouble brewing... carpintes and jags are definetely a no no in a tank that size, there simply isn't enough space for the female to hide when a male turns on her.

Africans arnt that bad and i think if you go off your bad experience with africans ( being more of a responibilty) then you wont have much success with cichlids all round, because there are not many species that you can just plop in a tank and be done with it.

ALL cichlids need care taken with their water, some more than others. africans (depending on certain types of course, but just your generic malawian) arnt that hard, all you need is the tank size, regular water changes to maintain your good water and good food.

This isnt a personal attack, just if you cant/dont have the time to maintain africans, then maybe cichlids arnt your cup of tea at this stage? :dntknw:

But i suppose that certain americans that have less requirements would be a good start, let us know what species you go for :thumb

Moez,