Petrochromis

nanikjava

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in Cichlid and been reading of Petro and Tropheus at the moment and I notice that people are very keen on Petro and for some reason I feel that Petro is like the 'golden boy/girl' compare to Tropheus, can anybody tell me why ? is it because of their behaviour or something ?

What are the experience of people in the forum of keeping Petro ?

Cheers mates.

Found the following video for Petro and it just blew my mind away at home the Petro 'mama' can care for the big babies in her mouth...one word...INCREDIBLE !

Video Link

Tropheus are mouth brooders too.

But do Tropheus let 5cm juvies back in their mouths to hide?

I'm guessing they are popular due to their size and the behaviour observed in that clip.

In my experience, Petrochromis are beautiful, but frightfully aggressive. A lot of colonies have "imploded" due to the adults killing each other. To keep Petros successfully, I would suggest a very large aquarium, at least 8'x2'x2' which is decked floor to ceiling with rocks. These are big fish with big territories, and while they are desirable, one must be sure one can care for them appropriately before acquiring them.

In my experience, Petrochromis are beautiful, but frightfully aggressive. A lot of colonies have "imploded" due to the adults killing each other. To keep Petros successfully, I would suggest a very large aquarium, at least 8'x2'x2' which is decked floor to ceiling with rocks. These are big fish with big territories, and while they are desirable, one must be sure one can care for them appropriately before acquiring them.

That's exactly correct according to what I've read on different US and European forums. Looks like Petros are hard to come by here isn't it ?