Malawi Cichlid ID?

Sloany

Hi all,

I picked these guys up a while ago off a fellow forum member closing down his tanks, but unfortunately he had forgotten their name. I've been growing up for approximately 12 months now and they are approximately 7-8cms.

So over to all the Malawi experts here. What do you think?

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

I initially thought that the Blue fish were the males and the Orange Blotch (OB) were females so I put 1 Blue in the 4 OB hoping to get some breeding happening. They've started breeding, but earlier in the week I thought I saw a mouthful being held by a Blue and this morning I stripped 11 fry from the Blue fish. So it appears that theory's out. Unless they are bi-parental mouth brooders? What do you think?

I would have a guess at Labeotropheus fuelleborni, but it could be Labeotropheus trewavasse. I dont know how to tell the fish apart but others should know.

I would have also guessed the male was the blue fish. I have heard of random males mouth brooding fry in other species, maybe it has happened here too

Josh

Thanks Josh,

They are the two species that I had narrowed it down to also.

I didn't see any breeding taking place but the blue's were the dominant fish in the tanks. But as soon as I saw the mouthful it was keeping out of site and acting like a protective female.

Appreciate the feedback.

Thank you all for the feedback. So they are Fuelleborni. :thumb

The Blue one holding is apparently female as the females do come in a blue morph but are rarer than OB females.

I'm surprised these are not more popular due to their colour variations. A good mixture of colours for a dislay tank.

I've got about 50 fry at about 1cm growing up, so should have some available in a few months time if anyone is interested.

Thanks again everyone for your replies. :thumbup: