Advice needed on large project

mrsmack

Hi Everyone,

This is my first attempt at posting something so thanks to those who read this. :thumbup:

I'm in the process of turning the kids 2000l swimming pool into a fish pond to supply an aquaponics system, my problem is we don't eat fish much so I wanted to stock the pool with african cichlids. I thought these would be the best choice as the water supply has a ph of 7.8 and is very hard (getting kH & gH kits tommorrow). I live near Mackay and have been experimenting with keeping cichlids outside for a while with no problems. So my questions is this what on earth do I put in there????? :dntknw:

I was thinking of keeping it single species to avoid the dreaded cross-breeds plus a type of catfish. I want the little beasties to breed like rabbits, 'cause I have 4 fry of my own and I need to keep costs down, I'm not interested in selling the fish I just need to stock a big system. I have promised the family that this is a temporary measure and they will have the pool back by summer, I'll be getting 2 x 1100L aquaculture tubs to move the fish into by chrissie.

So what poos and breeds alot ? :lol4: I love reading all the varied opinions on this site so let hear it, plus I would really like some breeders input as I need advice on where to get the stock at a good price as well.

Any advice, comments etc would be appreciated

Thanks Zoe :raisehand:

Hi Everyone,

This is my first attempt at posting something so thanks to those who read this. :thumbup: