water changes

sam1

Hi all

I'm very new in the cichlid world :confused: and am going to be doing my first water change on the weekend. I have a 3ft x 2ft x 1.5ft tank with 40 fry of Malawi and Tang cichlids. I know that's alot of fish for the size tank but I will be reducing the numbers as my fish grow.

The tank is filtered by a minireef system and is about 6 weeks old.

1. What % of water should I change?

2. What chemicals should I add when I replace the water? eg prime, stabilizer

3. Do I add these chemicals after I put the water back in the tank or do I put it in the new water before I put it in the tank ?

4. What test kits should I have? Is the API master kit recommended?

5. Last of all how often should I do my water changes?

Sorry about all the questions but I just want to do it right. Thankyou and I look forward to your responses.

Regards

Sam

Hi all

I'm very new in the cichlid world :confused: and am going to be doing my first water change on the weekend. I have a 3ft x 2ft x 1.5ft tank with 40 fry of Malawi and Tang cichlids. I know that's alot of fish for the size tank but I will be reducing the numbers as my fish grow.

3. Do I add these chemicals after I put the water back in the tank or do I put it in the new water before I put it in the tank ?

Sorry about all the questions but I just want to do it right. Thankyou and I look forward to your responses.

Regards

Sam

Thankyou Krellious

1 30%

2 prime

3 bicarb soda and epsom salt... google cichlid buffer recipe

4 api is best, get the one that has gh,kh,high range ph, anonia, nitrate and nitrite

5 weekly, but depends on what filter you have...

Thankyou Krellious

G'day Sam,

Krellious has given you some good advice, but we all do things differently, if not necessarily better :lol5: