red top displying agression & full colour

Foti

for the last two weeks or so my male red top has been displying aggression and has been full of colour i thought that it was the change of food that i was feeding anyways i had stopped feeding that way and had gone back to the old suff .

but today i did a big clean and seen the female who had been hiding! her mouth is full plus it is moving around i know that it might sound dumb but i dont know any other way of explaining it

i dont know how long she has not eaten plus how long she has been holding is this bad for me to not know ?

or should i just remove her and wait?

thank you to all

foti

Foti,

I'm no expert but I think the reason your female fish has been hiding is because she is taking care of her new borns. Not sure how long she will stay that way, and you have to be careful if you want to keep those frys. I read a lot of forum and topics on the net and it said you might have to physically remove the fry off the female fish before it's too late (some of them "somehow" forgot that they have to take care of the fry)

Good luck !!!

tropifish

thank you so much for your reply much appricated :thumbup:

i also for got to post that i have some cuckoo cats in the same tank,

i dont know when to strip or how long its been need someone to advise me on what to look for so i know when to strip.

i know that cuckoo cats hatch faster than the red top afra ? so to make sure what ever is in the mouth servive so i can see if its the cats

my disply is a mixed and i dont plan on ever selling any fish from this tank other than peppermints if ever and cuckoo if i am ever lucky

thank you

You can either get the fish and open her mouth to see what development stage the babies are at (eg. eggs, head n tails or fully developed fry), if they are head n tail or fry then possibly strip her or put the female in a holding net or tank with same water as main tank and just let her do her thing.

HTH

Ant