The first 3 shots were done with a Canon EF 100mm macro F2.8 lens:

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

The last 3 were taken with a Canon EF-S 17-85mm:

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

I can't really tell any difference between them, in fact i believe the normal zoom lens takes better pics. The macro lens has a very narrow focal length so it is very difficult to take sharply focused shots since the fish just don't stay still!

I am pretty new to macro photography. Any tips to help me improve the shots are welcomed!

thx

Dave

Yep I never thought macro was the best option for fish photo's when playing round with old film SLR's (this is years ago and I'm talking about shots of neon tetra schools and the like, and a very young me, using dad's camera's without permission woot.gif )

I do like macro now for taking pics of individual fish - although I don't have as much time as I'd like to tinker. Zoom lens shots also have been working for me lately. Should get some pics up soon... Maybe (did I mention I am lazy?)

I think it is one of those things that is very individual. It may well depend on the specific body and lens your using. As I think of late, I get crisper shots with the macro lens on my camera blink.gif But I had a play with dads camera in his tank and the long lens definately had something over his macro.

It looks like you are getting good results with both, so my advice is to go with which option is easier for you, with less mucking around setting up for the shot.

I know how hard it is to get good shots of tropheus, so I'm very impressed with ALL of those shots wink2.gifclap.gif

Thanks guys for all the kind words! I was just regretting that i bought that macro lens in the first place since it is very hard to set up the shot because u have a very limited focusing range so any movement will result in a blur. I will just have to practise the shots a lot more.