drilled holes

Loko

hi all

just seeking for some advice.

a while back, i bought a tank, cab and hood.

i then got a different LFS to drill the tank for me and install an overflow.

recently, i ask another LFS for advice on plumbing my mini reef to the tank.

they informed me that the hole is too small for a 6x2x2 tank.

the outlet (tank to minireef) is about 30mm and the inlet (minireef to tank) is about 20mm.

is this correct?

at the moment, i'm waiting for the water to clear in my tank. i have a pondmaster 1000 which only does 1000 L/hour. can you please advice how many litres per hour should be enough to handle a 6x2x2 and can you please suggest a quiet, inexpensive submersible water pump?

thanks in advance

yea,i reckon the outlets too small.mine are 45mm holes.id think the pump of 1000l/h is too small as well.best to do is drill again and use a bigger pump of about 3000l/h at least.try AOA for value.or a more expensive pump eheim or oceanrunner could last but cost double.

you might have to block the smaller hole with a glass piece and move the weir if youve got one,as you cant drill a larger hole around a smaller hole.

thanks for the reply nannat.

my other problem is, i've already siliconed a latex background, rocks on the side to fill in the gap and the overflow which is shaped like a half hexagon has faked grass. the tank is also full of water already with gravel.

if the hole is too small, is it possible to drill from underneath the tank and make the hole bigger?? is there an alternative i can do to fix it?

i don't really want to drill another hole elsewhere or even buy a canister filter. it defeats the purpose of having a mini reef. but i'm looking for other alternatives.

i also wonder if the LFS that drilled the hole could fix it.. problem is they've drilled the hole in august last year.