Electricity Usage/cost calculator

D6C1

Does anyone have a link or a way to calculate the cost of electricity used per year they can share?

Thanks

Hi Toufic,

It may be best just to wait and see?!

My last quarter bill went up about 2 and a half times - I blamed the bills prior to that as being estimates. However, since then I think I have 2 more tanks running so I must say I'm a bit worried about what the next one will be.

You seen my set up when you bought the ornaments so you can measure that against your own. Have you increased your lot?

Cheers

Shirley

G'day Toufic,

If you're comparing the Fluval to the Ehiem, wouldn't a comparison of the electrical specifications for the two units give an indication?

I'm no expert on electrics but I think it's the wattage that will give you the clue.

I think the FX5 is rated at 48 watts to move 2300lph.

Cheers,

Lee.

the fx5 vs the eheim equilivant. Fx5 cheaper 2 buy .lose of power when filled with media. Costs more to run. Eheim costs more, maintains lph, cheaper to run..

Can't remember where the comparison was done. I think it come up on another forum. Pleco fanatics .

hth

As copied from http://www.algone.com/energy_consumption.php

How to Calculate Your Aquarium's Energy Consumption

To calculate the energy consumption of your aquarium, you will need to know the watts per equipment and the overall running time. The running time of the heater can either be observed in measuring the actual running time or by estimating. 15 minutes out of every hour (6 hours total per day) for lower temperatures or 30minutes out of the hour (12 hours total) for higher temperatures. This will of course vary greatly, depending on your room temperature.