Need some help with egg tumbling

Donbennie

hi guys i decided to strip eggs from my e.blue females, i put them in the DIY tumbler (same as the site) which is in the 4ft tank next to the heater cos it couldnt fit in the 2ft which is empty atm, airstone up the top, i left this setup for a few days and the eggs started to grow mouldy spikes, i guess thats not a good sign, now my question is that what did i do wrong, temp is at 26 C, i followed the DIY guide in the site, please help ppl, thx in advance

:(

i have the same prob at the moment. i am only guessing put i think i am not letting the eggs tumble fast enough. i dont how fast the eggs should be tumbling. Are they surposed to bounch on the bottom or just rock around a little? if some one who uses these tumblers could answer that question i think i would have morre success

josh and evelyn

I'm no expert at this, where's Anita and Kevin when you need them, the eggs should be just bouncing off the mesh in the bottom of the tumbler. Sometimes you need to split mouthfuls into several tumblers due to the sheer number of eggs trying to be moved by the air stone.

Try, if you can, setting up a few tumblers and put a few eggs in each. Have them all tumbling at different rates and see which work. The eggs need to be moving constantly for you to be successful.

Can someone with more experience tumbling shed some light on the subject.

Thanks

I have had to tumble Tropheus eggs a couple of times (female spat when being netted) and I use the SCP DIY tumbler. I just have them bouncing, a little, on the bottom. I have never had any fungus. small clutches though, maybe 6 or 7 eggs from memory.

I use an in-line air line 'tap'. this way i can adjust the current to get it just right. Also later when they start popping heads and tails the eggs get lighter so it is easy to adjust then too.

I have heard where different tumbling rates works better for different species.