Which one is the most Preferred African Cichlid

fishly

Which one is the most prefereed African Cichlid?  

53 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Hi all,

I am new to cichlid, and currently I just got a new 5ft fish tank. I want to raise African cichlid, but not sure which one is the best one. I've done some research about the malawi and tangs :88:. But it makes me more confused which one is the best to be kept :).

If you can give your reason why you chose the answer would be much appreciated.

Regards,

:^:

Tony

tangs all the way ;)

Malawis might be brighter, more colourful, and more active........but to me the tangs have much more personality. It sounds a little funny to say, but I think Tangs are actually smarter. :lol:

Well I started off loving malawians. Because as mulva mentioned, they're great looking and colourful.

80% of my fish now are all tangs, definately more character, eventhough they're not as colourful as my saulosi, hongis, yellows etc I definately prefer my tropheus, calvus and julis over my malawians. Much, much more exciting to watch! :D

Seay

I'm still wrapped up in all the pretty colours ;) .........though i did recently buy some calvus/comps and have been thinking about getting some agro americans..............Malawis for me.

Fishly -

I'm not sure any of them are preferred or better. They are all different! My advice is start out wit some malawis or some central american cichlids. They are the hardier types.

HTH -