Our Tank

matt_in_syd23

Welcome to ACE. You will find the the members here friendly and keen to give advice.

Now that is a lot of fish in the one tank.

It is very hard to keep fish that require different water parameters in the same tank. Have you had any difficulties with the setup and the current fish. The Frontosa is looking very distressed sitting on the bottom of the tank.

Can you tell us a bit more about your setup i.e tank size, filtration , etc?

Hi Ged,

Im only new to fish keeping and have well and truely overstocked this tank.I've been off loading fish to mates and to the new lfs.

It's been difficult trying to keep all these guys happy,water change 25% each day.The tank is a 4x2x2 with 2 canister filters(ehiem 2217 & aqua one 1250 )chiller and a uv filter. The frontosa has been huffing for a while now he still eats and is sociable,i'v treated the tank with several over the counter medications as it was suggested to me it may be a parasite, last treatment was metronidazole.Im hoping that he is isn't suffering? Do you think i should euthanize him?

Unfortunately the wife won't let me get another large tank so for the time being im just slowly moving the fish on.My next step is to increase my filtration possibly to a couple of fx5's any suggestions?

Cheers Matt

I really didn't have any knowledge when i was stocking this tank and it appears i was misled by our old lfs.I was told that the fish would only grow to the space that they had and that it would stop aggression.

Have you tested your water at any stage? The Frontosa could be gasping due to an increase in ammonia. It would also check the nitrite and nitrate levels.

The next step is to identify what you currently have and what type of fish do you want to keep. You have some some aggressive species that will not be good for other more docile species.

I would off load some of your fish. You may like to apply to use the ACE Classifieds. See here for details