Need help planning rack.

Elapid

I am planning to build a rack sometime in the near future, mainly for grow out tanks and smaller species.

I will be completely honest and say I am a complete newbie and not all that crash hot with building things but would like to give it a whack and see how we go.

The rack will consist of 2 tiers, each tier holding 3x standard 2 foot tanks and room at the bottom for a sump. Combined weight of tanks minus substrate,pots etc will be around the 360-400 kilo mark.

Here is a highly detailed MS paint sketch: :lol4:

IPB Image

The main points I need help with are as follows:

1)What are the easiest but strongest joints to use? (Yes I know it's an oxymoron)

2)Should I use coach bolts or similar?

3)What timber thickness should I use?

4)What size pump would be sufficient?

5)What size sump will be sufficient?

6)What is the best way to plumb the rack?

Sorry for all the questions guys but I would much rather do it right the first time and I couldn't think of asking a group more fitting ;)

All help will be appreciated!

• 2 weeks later...

Pallet racking is best. Wood will sag.

If you are going to use wood use 14 guage hex drive batten screws.

Plumbing would be involved.

Drain top tanks to bottom to sump. Pump back to top tanks.

It will cost you a lot in fittings. I know someone local selling 6 cubes with plumbing.

look on plecoplanet

I saw them but my whole system will cost less than what he is asking. I have already completed the stand now I am waiting on the glass holesaw to begin drilling the tanks.

I am only using them for grow out tanks so it doesn't need to be a $500 project.

hey mate, here are some pics of the two different construction methods on my racks.

I see that you have built your rack already but I thought I'd put these up just in case anyone is interested in the future