NLS confusion

Priscacara

G'day, I'm needing confirmation on whether the latest NLS food I have bought is suitable for my Africans (saulosi, cobwe and other dwarves, frontosa and lemon cichlids). I usually use NLS Cichlid Formula 1mm sinking pellets but the lfs gave me NLS Discus Formula stating it was the same item just labeled different. Now to be fair they havent steered me wrong previously but there is a niggling doubt in my mind about the food.

Reading the analysis on the labels the differences in product are :- 8% moisture in the discus, 10% in the other, vitamin d 450iu/kg in discus and 2500 iu/kg in the other. To me these differences dont seem extreme but I'm still a novice so could be wrong.

One of my cobwe females is having trouble swimming and her belly looks a little swollen...........this fish has been hanging upside down the past few weeks at times picking algae off the rocks so not sure if its bloat maybe or something thats been ongoing and I havent noticed. None of the other fish are showing any signs of problems and it could be my imagination on the swollen belly as its not extreme and any other time I would put it down to being a guts and eating too much.

Any opinions appreciated, water conditions are stable (ph 8.3, gh 180, kh 100, no nitrates or ammonia, temp 25C)

Hey mate,

I wouldn't be too concerned with giving them the discus NLS. Spectrum foods

in general are able to be given to many, many fish with no problems occuring.

Discus are cichlids too after all, just come from the Amazon rather than the

lakes of africa as most mbuna and other cichlids.

As for your cobue afra, I found they have a tendancy to become eggbound,

this basically stops your fish breeding, signs include the swollen belly. They can

live with the condition and eat as normal but just won't spawn. As for

being something like bloat I can't be sure but if it remains the same and still has

the swollen belly than chances are it is eggbound.

Cheers,

Fry_2_Buy