48x24x28" South American Cichlid Worklog

japes

Hey guys,

here is my long overdue worklog of my new tank that was up and running on February 3. I did this up on another forum where there are a few less experienced fish keepers that are just starting out that me and a few guys try to help out, so there's probably a lot of general information in this thread that will seem dumbed down or what not.

Also keep in mind that I'm relatively new to the hobby also. If I talk about people or mention things that you're unfamiliar with remember this is copy/pasted. I'll seperate each post I did, and these photos, other than the latest which I will label, were taken over the course of about a fortnight.

Also note I am a student, so I've taken cheap options where I could.

It's finally here, my 48x24x28 (140Gal/530L) tank, courtesy of Aquariums R Us in Meadowbrook.

Plan is to develop a reasonably natural South American only (plants and inhabitants) community of slightly and non aggressive Cichlids and community fish. As you know I currently have a 160L 3' aquarium stocked with Souths only, which will be migrated to their lovely new home.

Planned stocking is as follows.

2x Heros efasciatus "Green Severum"

1x Aequidens pulcher "Blue Acara"

1x Hypselecara temporalis "Chocolate Cichlid"

3x Geophagus sp. "Rio Pindare" (Current Edit: Didn't happen)

2x Cleithracara maronii "Keyhole Cichlid"

5-6x Corydoras paleatus "Peppered Cory" (Not confirmed)

1x Ancistrus sp. "Bristlenose Pleco"

Plant species are as follows. Quantity unconfirmed.

Amazon Sword

Chain Sword (Broad)

Chain Sword (Narrow)

Lighting will be 4x54W T5 10K, with possibly replacement of 1-2 tubes with 15K.

I will be basing my general aquascaping on this layout. Thanks ADA 2007 Winner. :p

IPB Image