What do you run in your Aquaclear?

Cathyl

Gday all, just got an early xmas present from the missus, an aquaclear 110(formerly a 500), for my 4 foot tank and was wondering if you guys that run aquaclears run them as per the instructions or do you change the media and put in Matrix or any other type of media? Also, I keep Americans and was led to beleive that running carbon causes hole in the head disease. Is there any truth to this, as I was going to run the carbon insert in the filter but wont if there is a chance it will cause hole in the head. Thanks for your input. Kevin

• 2 weeks later...

Carbon doesn't cause HITH. Poor water conditions are part of the cause of HITH.

Usually, carbon is used when you're trying to scrub something out of the water column. I've been keeping fish for about twenty years and have had precious little use for it for the most part.

If you're using an AC, just make sure you stick to a good water change regime including gravel vacuum work and not just top-up and everything will be OK. IMHO, ACs are a bit light-on for a 4' if they are the only filtration owing to the lack of surface area in the filtration medium. Please consider a canister that has capacity for lots of media. There are many threads in this forum which could give you a whole world of guidance.

HTH and lots of luck....

oh - and Merry Christmas!

Cheers - Ozi.