CO2 and O2

Chafule

hey guys im new here..

im only 15 old kid and im starting my first tank its a 2 f tank

i was wondering if i put in my DIY CO2 maker in for my plants to grow will i need to put in a normal air pump for the fish to survive or will the plants produce enough oxygen for the fish?

Also is it good to put guppies, angel fish and sword tails together? if so wot ph should the water be and wot temp i havnt found that info yet

Thx

Hi, welcome to the board.

Im only 14 myself so yeah.

Ok i have found over a couple of years experience that it is not neccessary to put an air pump in the tank. But i do it anyway and would suggest that you do also. Go for the C02 if you plan for a planted tank but if not i personally wouldnt bother. By the way, the DIY C02 works a treat and its basically free!

Yep those fish should be absolutely fine together. But the angels do get big! but its nothing to worry about. The Ph should be 6.8-7.0. and the Temperature 26-28.

HTH

wazza

i was wondering if i put in my DIY CO2 maker in for my plants to grow will i need to put in a normal air pump for the fish to survive or will the plants produce enough oxygen for the fish?

You need to ask yourself if the fish will survive as is without CO2 and no air pump; if they will, then they also will with CO2. FWIW, I don't have any airpumps in any of my tanks, but do have filters that disturb the water surface to some degree, and the one in my goldfish tank has a venturi to draw air in for the goldfish's entertainment (although they seem to have tired of it, so may remove it).

If you put an airpump in your tank, ALL CO2 produced by your “DIY CO2” will be blown off the tank. That is, not usable by the plants and wasted.