New to the forum + New Kribs!

mermaid

Firstly I'd like to say a big HI to everyone! It's good to find a forum that deals with people in the same area as me - I've only been to American forums prior to this one! A bit about me: I'm a 19 year old female and I've been keeping fish for about 4 years. I bred Bettas for about 2yrs but had to give it up due to study which took up a lot of my time. At the moment we have 1 female Betta and 3 white clouds in a 20 gallon tank - there were more but as the years passed, so did the fish. The white clouds and the betta are heading towards being 4yrs old.

Now for the new additions! My very first cichlids!!

I went to a petshop in Richmond today, hoping to buy one Blue Ram. But when I got there, they didn't have any sad.gif The clerk told me she was just ordering some in and some would be in tomorrow. I decided to ask about Kribs and she was extremely helpful. It turns out - she breeds them! A gorgeous brightly coloured female with a deep pink belly was showing off in the tank so I decided to purchase her. Then as a quick thought, I told her to pop a male into the bag too. Grabbed a packet of black worms, and off we went.

They seem to be adjusting really well to their new tank. They had a bit of a quarrel over who was going to own the smaller green plant in the middle, but in the end, the female won. The male is sulking behind the filter, only coming out when I go near the tank. The female is the least shy of the two and she's my favourite. I named them Buffy and Spike smile.gif

I'll keep you updated as to how these two go. I'd love to hear from people - especially those who have kribs of their own!

Hi Mermaid, nice to meet you.

I am new here as well, so I'm not sure I am entitled to say it, but welcome aboard! I have a pair of Kribs which I am hoping will breed. My female is the boss, too.