Hi, I am new. some Q's about my new tank.

fecat

Hi, nice to meet you all/ raisehand.gif I am new in this hobby. I brought my tank about a month ago and the dimension is 48" 14" 18". At the moment i have the following:

3X Silverdollars (12 cm 3 years old)

1x Ele Blue (jevies)

3 x Ele Y (Jevies)

1 x clown loach (Jevies)

2 x Bristle nose (Jevies)

1 x firemouth (Jevies)

2 x Unknow africian cichlid (Jevies)

I will post up some picture later. My questions are, is it advisable to mix africian with americian? whats the problem if there is any?

I want to get one more fish and i am thinking to get an gold severum. can they go well with my tankmate? would my tank be too small for them? any comment is appreciated.

Thanks

Felix bigsmile.gif

You cant really mix them as Americans are pretty agro and will probably kill the tankmates, the pH is usually different to africans too. My advice is stick to one or buy another tank

Americans also grow quite large

HTH

Adam

yeh most americans get really aggro, im not sure how the firemouth would go as i hav never kept them myself so ill leave that to someone else.

and yeh. its spelt 'juvies' not 'jevies' laugh.gif

and also a warm welcome on behalf of everyone on this forum thumbup.gif

slinky thumb.gifthumb.gif

Heya

First welcome to the forum!

Second, Americans and africans dont mix

Why?

Because, americans are too aggro for africans,

also, the PH etc is way different.

Keep africans in one tank and americans in another is the way to go!

Hi welcome to the forum, but be advised I only had a standard 4' tank when I first joined 18 months ago now I have 19 tanks and a fish room, this forum and hobby is seriously addictive yes.gif

I agree that as a general rule they don't mix as they get bigger they get very aggrssive, but don't tell Waz wink2.gif