New To Tanganyika

Newo

I recently won the Perth Cichlid Society chrissy raffle, 6'x18"x14" tank and stand.

Im only new to fish.. atm I have 4x2x2 with Maingano, Yellows + Red Emp.

Im interested in setting up a Tang tank.

From what I have read im assuming most people use stuff to buffer their water... can people tell me what the costs are for these products... I have heard of pool salts and other stuff like bicarb being used instead. Although what are the costs for the proper ones from the stores?

Now for the more important issue... what fish can I put in the tank.

I like the look and sound of the following fish (not all in the same tank).

C. Frontosa

Trets

Sexfasciatus

Leleupi

Calvus

Comps

Because im new on the fish... im not too sure about keeping such a slow growing fish such as the fronts, a.calvus and comps and the tank will probably be too narrow for them when they are at full size. (im not ready to test my patience yet)

I like the Trets and Sexfaciatus, although from what I have read... You can only really keep one pair in each tank. Im not really keen on a 6foot tank with only 2 fish in it.

What im hoping is you guys can tell me what can go with what and how many of each in the tank.

I have read about having two shell beds on each side and rockwork down the middle and having 2 types of shellies and a cave spawner down the middle... although is it just as easy to put a partition down the middle of the tank and have Trets on one side and Sexfaciatus on the other?

Does anyone else Partition tanks to keep aggressive tang spawners?

Thanks all.

Owen.

Hi Owen