Sump ideas for new rack

lloydashton

Hi Guys,

I am setting up 2 new racks and would like to sump each rack, however i have never done a sump before and need some ideas/tips/advice.

Below is the rack
1455183_10152321742400166_945448975_n_zp

I only want to run one pump, to all 4 tanks, and all 4 tanks to go separately back into the sump.

The tanks are 4x2x18in (lxwxh) so i think thats about 330ltrs per tank.

Recommended sump size?
Recommendations on where to get sump made?
Size of pipe?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as i have only ever used canisters and now i have 18 tanks, the power bill is getting a bit larger if i run another 8 canisters.

I run a gutter system... So the tanks all have their own bulk heads and drain into a 90mm stormwater pipe, that is angled to flow back to the sump, into a black bucket, with my media (coral rubble, noodles and pads etc). Just using 25ml hose off the back of each tank. I have some pics on the laptop, will upload one after.

Hi Loyd,

I went with the 90mm stormwater myself . due to lack of space on the rack i put my plumbing behind

you seem to have plenty of room, i had to go up and over for my return back to tanks i used 40mm pressure pvc but i am using a very large pump

if you had enough room between the tanks for fittings you could drop it straight down the middle.

for your return you could move the rack out just enough to run your return line in a loop with taps.

P1050061_zps1cd7649a.jpg

about 12 months later ........Cheers Mark

P1130293_zps2ddd933c.jpg

PM sent Lloyd. hi sand diver the 2000 litre grow out tub has a colony of 12 mdoka and a heap of fry growing out .

but as mentioned in another thread its driving me nuts :wallbash::wallbash: trying to observe and catch fish in there !!!!!!

pretty sure the mdoka have spawned and need to get the girls out . there is also half a dozen fry savers bobbing around just to make things interesting .

going to give my diy monster net a go tonight .

cheers mark