New to Cichlids - What should I get?

tfoster

I'm just starting out and have obtained a 3ft tank. I want to start off simple, but do not know which group of cichlids offer the beginner a chance to learn the ropes and not have too many fatalities.

Also any recommendations on books for cichlids.

Cheers

Tim.

I'm fairly new to cichlids/fishkeeping. Kept community fish for about 1.5 years and kept cichlids for a little over 1 yr. I've had good sucess with mbuna. They are tough little fish, easy to care for and breed like rabbits. You could keep a colony of around 1m and up to 7f in a 3ft tank of mild mbuna with regular spawns.

Also they are very active fish and always doing something unlike other (more boring) fish heheheh.

All you need is a flat rock. thumb.gif and a second fry tank.

there are some great books for afrian cichlids, cichlids in their natural environment for both malawi and tanganyika by Ad Konings are both excellent. not as up to date on books for americans though.

as for what you want, a tank of 3ft means you would be limited for americans. you could probably keep one pair of the smaller species, like firemouths, sajicas, rainbows, convicts or the like without a problem. you could also get dwarf species as well.

for africans, tang substrate spawners would do very well, as would shellies. for malawis, you could do up to about 20 fish with no real issues, less if you want to actually breed stuff. I would recommend a whole lot of mbuna males as they look fantastic and 3ft is more than enough for them. plus they will give a whole lot of colour..

You can't go wrong with good quality electric yellows.

You will always sell fry, and they are a nice hardy fish (and attractive too).

user posted image

Alternatively, Pseudotropheus saulosi are pretty to look at and sell well (and are more active than yellows generally). Males are blue and females are orange (but all start off orange).

user posted image

user posted image