Advice needed on Base Fertiliser

punie

hi guys!

Finally! My turn to ask some questions and for advice!

I'm pretty tired of using fert tabs, and am looking for an alternative to the commercial base ferts as they cost way to much for a tub.

I see many gardening shops around but can never recognise which substrates would be suitable for a planted tank.

Whats a good fertiliser to use? One that wouldn't leach into my tank (some do even after adding a thick layer of gravel over it) and would be good for underwater plants?

I see many around, slow release etc etc but am never certain. Anyone got experience in this?

Must say i'm a newbie when it comes to making my own fert.

Thanks in advance!

You might want to try a search on this forum against the word "substrate" or even "duplarit". :D

There is a lot of discussion about this topic from late last year and early this year and there haven't been a whole lot of changes since then. :D

Lots of good info - got me started right.

Cheers - OziOscar.

Hi,

I've used Manutec Fern Spikes slow release with a lot of success with heavy root feeders like swords. I use maybe 1/4 of a spike put right into the roots as deep as I can in the substrate. I do use a pretty fine gravel (1mm) and have about 10cm of it but have never tested to see if the spikes leach alot or not.

The swords with spikes certainly grow a lot better than those without, and it works for Nymphaea and other such root feeders too. Good when you are lazy with daily dosing like I am, and run the tank on a low to nil nutrient balance...

HTH

Vincent

p.s. You can get them in the garden section of Big W. I chose the fern spikes because the NPK ratio had the lowest P, but there are a few other varieties there that I might try with a higher level of P, as some US aquarists have been having good success with more P in low nutrient tanks.