Afra Cobue, what are your thoughts

BMR

Hi all,

Just wondering what the Afra Cobue (hope i got the name right) is like as a fish ?

I am new to the fish world and looking at getting myself some new fish but unsure what to get.

I currently have:

2 x frontosers 8-14cm

2 x red emperas 14-15cm

3 x princess bacardis 4cm

and 1 x bristle nose cat fish 7cm

I had seen the Afra Coubue and though he looked nice but not sure what he is like. Or how hard he is to get my hands on. ??

I also am keen on the look of the christmas fulu, red top black bars, electric yellows, Blue Damasoni, Manganos and bumble bees gobe. (hope i got those names right)

Would you reccommend these fish for my tank or something else ?? Im open to idears

Thanks guys for your help love it that i can jump on ACE and get all the help i need. :)

hi welcome to the world of cichlids,

as alex said some idea of tank size will help us.

the fish you have come from different places the red empress are lake Malawi fish and the frontosa and brichardi are both from lake tanganyika. bristle noses are from south america. this means they probably will thrive best in different water conditions but if they all seem to be ok then thats OK.

the fish you want to get are all from lake malawi except the fulu from lake victoria and the bumble bees from......... well i dont know, but not one of the african lakes. they will probably all get along ok except the bumble bees which will make a very nice snack for the frontosa or anyone else with a big enough mouth.

most people pick a lake and stick to fish from there but there are plenty who mix it up and have great display tanks with frontosa and malawis. the thing to remember is frontosa get big and potentially anything they can fit in their mouth is concidered food.

as for cobues they are stunners, one of the fish i was always on the look out for but never got around to buying .

have fun, keep asking questions