What Cichlids dont eat there own fry

intern1

as far as i know most shellies (if not all) dont eat their fry. i have multis and they look after them. Did u want to know which african cichlids dont eat their own fry or which americans dont?? coz i thnk most americans raise their own fry (like angels and dicsuss). im not an expert so im not 100% sure.

as far as i know most shellies (if not all) dont eat their fry. i have multis and they look after them. Did u want to know which african cichlids dont eat their own fry or which americans dont?? coz i thnk most americans raise their own fry (like angels and dicsuss). im not an expert so im not 100% sure.

was just asking a general question/discussion

i got brevis and the parents dont eat there own fry but they dont shepard the fry when danger comes its more like your on your own type of approach.

Is it true all malawi eat there own fry or are there exceptions ????

Most cichlids are good parents when given the correct conditions.In some species if the fish has had many generations where they are artificially raised(eg Angels)they can be a problem.Alot of cichlids need time to get it right(esp mouthbrooders and esp Tanganykan ones)so may eat the first few batches.I have an interest in mouthbrooding Betta species and these guys are terrible parents(maybe because the male does it?? :thumbup: ).

Conditions are important as if a cichlid thinks that they are likely to loose their brood because of tank position (to much disturbance) or overcrowding,incorrect pH etc. they will eat their fry to conserve to conciderable energy it takes to produce them.

I must say Ive found Shellies to be the most dedicated parents,ocellatus females would attack my arm when I was cleaning the tank to protect their fry(but I think they are really a red devil reincarnated as a little fish)

Hey,

Sandsifters are generally pretty good with raising their fry. I breed X. falvipinnis and X. spilopterus.