Why oh why did our Fry die?

Bedge

So, on Tuesday (or Wednesday) I pulled out 4 fry and put them in a net in the tank.

Not sure what they were. Maybe empress's or peacocks. They were free swimming and formed etc

I got Sera mikropan, and I put a little bit in each day .. they seemed to eat ok. Took them a while to figure it out.

Two died Wednesday morning. One died this morning and one died this arvo.

As this is my first attempt at raising fry - and ideas as to why they might have died?

Thanks.

Hey Bede,

Badluck with the fry mate.

Sounds like it could be lack of oxygen in the net. Did you have an airstone in there? or was water able to be moved through the net? (like a power head pointed at it?)

I have had similar experiences with nets/fry savers and believe it was due to no water movement within.

Sometimes a film would appear on the surface in the frysaver i think caused by food.

I use frysavers from matthew now, where water moves through them constantly. If they are all being used I use a fish net or fry saver net and have either an airstone within or i place it infront of running water.

Goodluck with the next lot.

Cheers

Joel

Hey,

I had them in front of the filter output. Maybe about 20 cm away in distance?

Hey,

Yeah, that sounds fine provided that the flow is strong enough.

I have never used Sera mikropan before, but usually have success with baby brine shrimp (which is recommended by most) or crushed flake/pellet. From a brief read online, it sounds as though micropan is a liquid or paste food for fry. Does it mess up your water?

Apart from that, is there any chance of high nitrates or even an amonia spike?

I have also had problems in the past with larger water changes than usuall. The fry dont seem to handle it as well as the adults. Dont suppose you did a water change in the last four days?

Cheers

Joel