New Planted 2ft

easy does it

Hi Folks,

Setting up a new planted 2ft-er, and planning on using Dupla products from A-of-A. I have no experience, so all advice is appreciated.

Substrate

Does any one have experience with this product, and could they please advise me on the amount of Laterite required.

Can you overdose when it comes to the substrate? :confused:

Filtration

Looking to reduce gases lost, so probably going to remove Fluval 101. Is there any recommendations for alternate filtration, how much do I need on a planted tank this size? :confused:

CO2

Going for a DIY job connected to a small powerhead, powerhead to turn off when lights do, therefore expecting CO2 to rise directly to the surface when lights out and have small influence on water chemistry, is this realistic? :confused:

Any other recommendations for CO2 in tank of this size.

Lighting

A double power compact with T5's, will that be adequate, and can someone recomend which of the various types and colors of "bulb" are best?

Thanks heaps in advance people, :thumbup:

Cheers

Adrian

• 3 months later...

Hi,

I was in the same boat as you. Started with the 2 FT things were going well.

There is aqua glow and powerglo that I have used at the same time. Unsure which one worked, but probably both.

Do to the difficulties with having to find locally available good quality T5 reflector with housing at a reasonable price I have proceeded with T8 tubes with very similar strenghts to T5

The tube brand was Hagen. Used the Power glo (purple box) and the Aqua glo.

I used a DIY CO2 system with yeast and sugar. First I used a weak baking yeast from Coles, it was TANDACO brand with 5 satchets. Later somone gave me a stronger one that lasted about 2 weeks.

This system is a head ache in my experience as it is not constant and the plants stop start growts spurts.