pseudotropheus acei "tanzania"

widdupm

hey everyone,

i was just wondering if the strand of acei with the black body and the yellow tail was the "tanzania?" and if so i have heard that they have not been found in the lake, and are maybe crossbreeds? ha i am quite new to the hobby and love the look of these fish! would they be compatible with electric yellows in a standard 4 foot tank?

ha few qestions i know,

many thanks

mike

hey everyone,

i was just wondering if the strand of acei with the black body and the yellow tail was the "tanzania?" and if so i have heard that they have not been found in the lake, and are maybe crossbreeds? ha i am quite new to the hobby and love the look of these fish! would they be compatible with electric yellows in a standard 4 foot tank?

ha few qestions i know,

many thanks

mike

Hi Mike,

You need to read some of Ad Konings books instead of listening to people who have never dived in the lake and observed the fish in their natural environment. Ps acei is not a crossbreed, and there are 3 geographic variants of Ps acei available in Australia : (i) "Tanzania", which has a black body & yellow fins (ii) "Ngara", which has a black body and white fins and (ii) "Msuli Point", which has a pale blue body and yellow fins. These 3 variants are the same fish found at different locations and will interbreed with each other. All of the acei variants will make good tankmates for electric yellows.

Cheers, Doug

Hi Mike

As Doug stated, 1's own investigations should be made. :thumb

A very nice fish specimen the Ps. Acei is not matter what varient.

They will go well with your EY's. A good array of rock formation should be structured in smaller tanks.

Regards Symphy ;)

Actually reading some of Ad's Books He doesnt state he has found these Acei

anywhere in the lake

He talks about finding the 2 Msuli Pt and Ngara

In hs new book he says he has found a similiar fish G.Moori that has darker BlueGrey body with Yellow fins