6x2x2 - Setup Questions

Willo

Hey Guys - I'm new to the fold, and have recently purchased a 6x2x2 tank. It's a massive upgrade for me, going from an aqua-one style tank, which has filtration, lighting all sorted, to a setup which I have to make decisions. This is hopefully where you guys can help me :)

My tank has a weir, with a little hole in the bottom (I think you call it the sump?), and the tank came with a mini-reef system and pump (probably not of high quality, but it does pump 3500lph).

Now with the questions:

Heater: I've read throughout these forums that people are placing heaters within the mini-reef? Have I read that correctly? If so, is there benefit in doing this rather than within the tank itself (other than aesthetics)? I have just bought two 300w stainless steel heaters.

Durso: I noticed a few of you have put durso things in (I only learnt about these things on these forums). Can anyone simply explain the benefit of such a thing? I gather it's to reduce noise, but seeing as how i've no water in my tank yet, i've not experienced the noise. I couldn't understand how the durso worked, as it looked like the pipe went down to the sump, with a sponge filter coming off half-way down the piping. Weird?

Returning the water back to teh tank from mini-reef. What's the best way to return the water to the tank? At the moment, simply the pipe returns to the top of the tank with a little elbow joint and just sits on top... is it better to add some piping, maybe with some holes in it so the new water is distributed more evenly throughout the tank?

Thanks for your time peoples... I am interstate at the moment, but will get a photo up when i return.

Cheers,

Tony

mini reef = sump same same.. as for the heater in the sump.. it heats all the water that way rather then having a dead spot where you have your heater i guess you'd say an even heating area in the sump.. also looks much better on the eye when it isnt in the tank..