Timers

edward

I remember reading some people use timers to turn their lights on/off.

I saw this on aldi's website

http://australia.aldi.com/cms/product_01/product_412.html

It's a timer with summer/winter settings, so I assume you can set different times for the lights to be on for summer and winter.

For $9.95...seems ok smile.gif

Just thought I'd share it with you guys. wub.gif

G'day Edward

I use the old style where it has a rotating dial. You stick different shaped pins into it and this turns the electrical circuit on and off. Hence my lights turn on and off.

But the digital version you link to should work just fine, provided there are no blackouts huh.gif .

hmmm, how do I put this.....

I have had some experience with high-powered lighting systems and their use in conjunction with timers huh.gif

While I understand that most of us who use timers do not have huge HPS lighting units, it should be noted that the old dial-type timers do not handle trouble all that well, IME. They have a tendancy to kick-out of time when the light comes ON(with a lot of power) by a few minutes and I have even had them "Pop" the timer-pins out when the Balast-box fired up dry.gif (cost me big-time, that did) Having said that, I do not doubt that they have served their purpose for most users, who have never encountered the problems I am talking about, and are probably a cheap(ish) way to go.

The best (and by that I mean most reliable no mater what you do to them short of holding them under water) are the digital timers that store some power on-board...nothing more annoying than having to re-program the bloody things just cos the power went out for a while, etc.

So, for $10(Aus) that is very cheap and if they are $6 elsewhere...even better.

I have used both and am still not satisfied.

It only powers a single 4ft fluro.