Jaycar Thermostats

nissky

If anyone wants to have accurate digital temperature control for their heaters,

Jaycar have a $40 thermostat that I found works well.

I have been using it for 2 months on my discus tank, connected inline with a normal 300W aquarium heater.

It senses the water temperature, and turns the heater on when when the temperature drops 0.5c below the set level, and turns off when temperature goes 0.5c above. It also gives a constant readout of current water temperature.

I like it because it allows you to very easily monitor and also adjust water temperature. Also stops heaters momentarily coming on when temperature is above set level, which i find happens with some heaters, or the dreaded heater

stuck on boiling the fish (happened to me once). I think you can also use it to turn

devices on when the temp reaches a set level as well, ie chillers.

Im going to get a few more for the rest of my tanks biggrin.gif

Sounds like I might have a look a them too. Thanks for the tip.

There is also a thermo temp switch kit you can get from Jaycar as well. This can control a similar circuit as well as having an alarm to notify you of too high a temp or too low a temp.

And having this control the heater is great, like you said, if the heater goes high and boils your fish, this will always disconnect the power to the heater as soon as the heat goes past the preset value.

Just thought I would add my two (2) cents. smile.gif

Steve

Hi Nissky...

How does it sense? Is there a way to put a probe in the water? Or do you need to add a thermocouple (K type or similar) to it?

I looked on the Jaycar site and only found model 'QT7200'. Is that the one?

Cheers - OziOscar.

heres the link to it Thermostat

Steve, i cant find the one you mentioned with alarm, that would be even better smile.gif

A few points, the model i mention will only support 5Amps, so you can only have

at most 4 x 300W heaters controlled by one thermostat.