aquaclear 200 for a 50 gal?

pupz

I'm gonna buy a 50 gal tank=200L approx, on the aquaclear 200 box it says up to 50 gallons, but when i asked the lfs they said it would filter for 120-130L. i think its cos the americans use different electrics system ie 60HZ and in oz we use 50HZ so that would be less flow rate. am i just being an idiot or is the aquaclear 200 enuff for the 50 gal. i am considering raising 2 or most likely one large central american cichlid

That's a standard 4 footer, right? At LEAST a 300 on that and supplement with other filtration, especially if keeping an American. You might like to get a medium sized American not a large one, since at 14 inches front to back that doesn't give a big fella much room to turn around in.

Mmm, I am not an American expert myself, if you take a look at the profiles section on this site and others, you will get an idea of sizes. The profile section on SCP (link at left) suggests a single Jag can be kept in 200 litres or over. I don't really know their size.

For a 50G, I would be looking to the AC500 and a cannister especially if you're thinking about any of the messy feeders, like Oscars.

I just sold off a complete set up with a 4 yo Oscar (and a fat common pleco) in a 48 x 14 x 20 with an AC500 and a no-name cannister (I seriously mean it had no name on it - I got it for cheap in Singapore on a business trip). Water was crystal clear despite the O blowing chunks of foods out of his gills at almost every feeding.

What are you thinking of stocking?

Cheers - OziOscar.

The thing will filters of any kind is....whatever size they say they can filter up to is bullcraP. Atleast to me. I go for overkill, you can never have too much filtration.

Get a filter that will give you a big turnover of water, how many litres it filters per hour. Also a large sized filter can hold more filtration media...more surface area, more stable filtration and stable biological build up.

Go as large as money can buy!

Steve