Thinking about getting some dwarves

Rumpig

Gidday,

after reading some of the posts in this forum on these fish I was wondering if you could give me some info on your tanks.

What substrate do you use?

Do you have much current in your tanks?

What ratio of fish do you have? (1m:1F?)

What size tanks do you use for breeding?

I haven't kept anything apart from rift lake cichlids for a long time and have been wanting to get something different.

I have a 4x18 to play with and am interested in Pelvicachromis spp. or maybe some of the less common dwarves..

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Mick

As far as i know most Pelvicachromis are pairing. As farr as apistos i am no expert or anything resembling one but i seem to remember people breeding them in trios (1m/2f) or with more females. Most apisto tanks i have seen have some pebbles or sand (river sand so that it doesn't raise pH) sometimes a layer of leaves from oaks or similar non-oily trees (eucalypt leaves have caused problems in some cases). Also driftwood will help to lower the pH and many species enjoy the tannin in the water. Other than that it gets specific depending on what species you like but with a 4fter to play with you could keep most dwarves.

Have a look around and give us some species you like the looks of. Depending on the species they may like soft water or like kribs throw wierd sex ratios if water parameters aren't quite right.

HTH

Mick,

A 4 x 18 is a good size tank for dwarves. You will be able to keep quite a few pairs in this size tank. Most of the dwarves breed in pairs, except some appisto's and Dricossus species which can also breed in harem's. The current in the tank is not too much of an issue, so long as it is not too strong (Aquaclear's are fine). Light or dark subtrates are ok, just stick to a small grain size (up to 4mm grain size) as kribs and some other dwarves like to dig. River sand is ideal.