Sexing Tropheus

Fat Puppy

Giday All,

I am new to Tropheus and have 2 colonies, which I am trying to get more fish for but they are just sooo expensive.. Anyways I have Rutunga Brabant "Firecracker", and the Kasanga Red Rainbows but I am having a hell job of identifing the males and females. I really want to make sure the male to female ratio is not to lop-sided.

I don't want to vent them as I am far to new to this and they be too expensive to muck with.. Any assistance MUCH appreciated,

Cheers

Mike

Hi Mike,

i am not expert but the most reliable way to tell the sex of your precious Tropheus is to vent them. U will obviously need to know what u r looking at. They both have two holes, the female has one that is larger.

What size r your Trophs? It is very difficult to tell sex when they r juveniles. There r subtle but unreliable difference in males when they get more mature. When they get to breeding size ~2.5inches, u will obviously know the sex by watching their breeding behaviour. However, i know u want to find out before then!

HTH

Dave

It is my opinion that sex-ratio is not so important as numbers. I have a large group of 40(or so) duboisi and it seems to be the same 6-7 females that do the breeding.

Rather than being overly worried about the numbers of males to females, you could limit the number of spawning-caves and increase the overall numbers of the group...this has worked well in my 2 colony's of T's.

HTH

Vent sexing is the way to go with Tropheus although some species can be sexed through their colour formation once fully grown.

Don't worry too much at this stage - if you plan to breed them take heart my KII's are in a tank of 8 males to 4 females and are breeding well smile.gif .

Be careful though with your colonies, not all species can tolerate an imbalance of male to female ratio - for example T. annectens and T. Brichardi do well when there is only one male in the tank.