Breeding and Tank setups

mickgibbo

Hello,

Im new to this game and have many questions and since I have found this site I have had alot answered.

First of all I would like to get the members to show me there breeding and tank setups with pictures as I have 2 X 4foot tank, one display 1 holding fish(barra and oscar), I have 1x 3 foot (trying to breed Aulonocara sp. "Lwanda" they are still way too small and holding baby convicts)and 1X2foot (tall) (breeding Convicts),

How do you have them out of the way but still possible to clean them.

What sorf of filters do you use?? Do you have a method to maintaining them.

Any Info and Pictures would be great, thanks

Mike

first of all welcome to the game you're in good company... sorry no pics

as for the filter, when choosing a filter a few factors must be taken into consideration

firstly, it depends on the size/volume of the tank in question (just yesterday i was having a discussion (ant laugh.gif ) about a canister filter being overkill for a 2foot tank)and of course on the inhabitants chosen because some fish are very messy eaters and after a large meal a large present is left behind laugh.gif

i'm pretty fussy when it comes to filtration so i usually have 2 (or more) types of filtration in all my tanks.

2ft tank or smaller: either an aquaclear/similar hang on back filters or an internal powerhead filter, whichever of the two running in conjunction with an undergravel filter.

if i am using a small tank for raising fry though i would definately use a sponge filter of some description.

internal powerhead brands that i have used: aquaone...happy with it so i'll probably stick to it.

hob filter brands: aquaclear all the way but some others are ok aswell.

sponge and undergravel filter brands: don't think it matters.