New Tank Cycling Ammonia still reading 0.25ppm HELP

SophSixx

I must first mention I'm a newbie to this hobby and have had some bad advice from where I purchased the tank. I've had a 55gal tank cycling going into its 7th week and unfortunately it was with 2 x electric yellow labs (both are active and look fine) . Ammonia went Up to 2ppm even though I was constantly doing daily 20% water changes and then Nitrites kicked in and peaked to 5.00ppm (even with daily water changes). Ammonia started dropping as Nitrites went off the grid and after weeks of wc and daily testing this past week Nitrites have fallen to 0ppm, Nitrate is currently at 5.0ppm but ammonia constantly reading at 0.25ppm. I'm at a loss at what I am doing wrong. Does this mean the cycling process did not work? Even though I have had a hard time with this tank I've gone off and ordered a new 6x2x2, arriving this weekend. Obviously second time around I will be doing a fishless cycle.

Any help will be very much appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Hi

Ammonia of 0.25ppm or less would be best, and Nitrate (No3) below 10 is great, below 20 is OK, around 30, more water changes.

So what does this mean, in generally things are going the right direction.

As the cycle has started I suggest that you keep eye on the Ammonia (NH3/4+) and Nitrites (NO2) and only do more water changes if they go back up.

Once a week water changes of 20 to 25 percent are all you should need from now on.

Running a blue planet all in one, filter media it came with-carbon, sponge, bio balls and noodles. I have not as yet cleaned any of the media as I was advised not too until tank was cycled. Should I give the sponge and carbon a rinse when I do my next WC? I thought I was on the right track but the ammonia just won't go down to 0. I think I'm in over my head with the 6 footer getting delivered this weeken?.