Inkbird temperature controllers help.

Beaz

I have been looking at getting an Inkbird thermostat, but I am unsure which model would be best, there seems to be 2 or 3 versions of each model. I only want one to adjust temps without getting wet. I don't NEED datalogging or wifi (but that could be cool). Been looking at ITC-306T, no frills - just to do the one job.

Does anyone use them? Anyone dislike them? Is there a particular model to be avoided?

Is a metal or rubber probe better?

Ive' never used a rubber probe long term in my tank before, but assume depending on the grade of rubber it'd be fine (like suction caps etc..). In saying that has anyone had experience with rust or corrosion with metal probes with this brand?

Cheers!

Edited by Beaz
poor grammar

Hey, I am not an expert on this subject 😀 so really can not comment on this. However if your objective is to keep the tank temperature consistent then you can get a good heater that has auto cut off function to keep the heating under control. 

Apart from temp control what other things do you see you use this for? I am curious 😄

Edited by MattG_Sydney

Mate 😀 Sorry to ramble on, I hope all this makes some sense.

40 minutes ago, MattG_Sydney said:

get a good heater that has auto cut off function to keep the heating under control.

I got a giggle out of this, sorry mate. Yes, of course. 600w heating 600l.

I live in an extreme climate, in winter it's sub zero and summer cranks above 40, so I have huge ambient temp swings. (50deg)

If I don't move the dial on my

40 minutes ago, MattG_Sydney said:

good heater that has auto cut off function

winter temps in the tank sink to 22, then as it warms up to summer the tank temps raise to more like 30. During hot spells, sometimes higher (but thats a separate issue - I have been known to use a fan on the surface to cool the tank.), so at times during the year I find myself needing to turn the heaters up or down.