A nice surprise in my tanks today...

BillyT

Hi Guys,

It's my first time posting a new topic on the forums but I had to share this with someone...

I woke up this morning to find that my Julidochromis regani have spawned!!! :lol4:

It is their first spawn (I bought them as juveniles) and was wondering how long it would take for them to breed. The pair have been camped outside of a cave for the past few weeks but I only noticed the eggs today. I am now busy playing "fishy musical chairs" as I need to remove the remaining 2 other Juli's and 4 Brichardi's from the tank to give the parents some peace! As all of my tanks are occupied atm it is involving some juggling!

To add to the excitement, a new batch of baby convicts had their first excursion out of their cave with their parents today! The kids love watching them but I don't know how to explain that if not eaten by their tank-mates I will have to find alternative "homes" for them.

Not a bad way to spend a Sunday!

:thumb good stuff :thumb

first spawns are always super exciting - congrats mate

Thanks guys,

It took some doing but I managed to shuffle my other fish around - everyone seems happy atm.

A whole bunch of 1-2'' convicts were moved from their 2' tank to a 3' tank to make way for the Brichardi's.

My 4 Brichardi's are a lot happier in their own tank. It's only a 2' but it will have to do for the time being, they are only small. They seem to like the rocks I put in!

My 6 Geophagus araguaia (formerly in the 3' tank, now occupied by the small convicts) were moved into our 4' community tank in the house. My wife's idea - she likes the look of them!! My main concern is that this tank is the one with the new batch of baby convicts...mum and dad are doing a good job of keeping ALL of the other occupants herded into the far end of the tank! If they stay there the parents leave them alone, so I will see how things go. Fingers crossed...