Mum Holding

chris1

Hi everyone,

I am new to this great site, having only just discovered it. We have had an 3 foot african cichlid tank for a couple of years. We have lost some fish along the way, but have managed pretty well for novices. Our LFS is pretty good with advice and direction which has helped immensley.

2 weeks ago I bought a Maleri pair, and we now have Mum holding eggs. We haven't had fry before and I need some help. I have put her in a net cage within the tank and she seems to be OK. I have read that they hold for up to 3 weeks and that they don't feed during this time. Is it possible for the Mother to die due to malnourishment???

Is there anything else I have to do?? Also, is it possible to leave the fry in the main tank? We only have the one tank set up, but do have accesss to a 1 1/2 footer if needed. It is soooo exciting!!

Thanks so much. Any help much appreciated.

Chris1

Mom won't die of starvation in most cases.

U will need a spare tank to grow out these fry if you want to save any of them.

Some people "milk" the holding female and force her to spit the babies out prematurely. I often milk females that I want to get more fry out of. I let her hold the fry for 2 weeks and then I strip her of the young. This way I get more fry and the female gets to eat sooner, which means she will recondition faster and breed again sooner.

To grow out the fry, u will need at least a spare 2 ft tank with a sponge filter and a heater. The fry may take up to 2-3months to get to 3-4cm and may take up to 5months b4 u can put them back with the parent colony and not be worried about them getting harrassed or killed.

Alternatively, the 'natural' way is to get plenty of rocks with lots of little hiding places and let the female spit the fully formed fry in the tank and hope some fry will survive.

kev

What else is in your tank?

Peacocks are nototrious for crossbreeding with any and all other peacock types, and a whole host of other "hap" type fish.