Electric Yellow Colouration

jamo

Hi everybody,

I have been breeding electric yellows for the past six months with much success. Currently have 52 juveniles from several broods. Range in size from still with yolk sac to 3cm. All male and females adults that i have been using to breed look to be good quality with no markings and bright colouration. However this does not appear to have been passed on to the juveniles as they are all a brown/yellow colour - rather than the bright yellow seen in stores (with fish of similar size to mine).

I am hoping to sell them at some stage and wanted to know what others thought i could try to brighten them up. (or what may have caused the poor colouration).

Food they have been fed includes cichlid flakes (OSI), live baby brine shrimp (personally hatched), spirinella flakes (I don't can't remember how to spell). Once larger they also get occasional ffedings of frozen brine shrimp.

In terms of tank conditions that may have an effect.

Tanks are stacked on shelves in laundry - only lit by ceiling and windows so not heaps of light entering juvenile tanks. Sides of tank have been blacked out so light is only entering from front. Tank is bare bar a few rocks and a sponge filter. Water quality is fine with no ammonia or nitrite and temp of 28oC. When last tested pH and hardness were both at levels suitable for elec yellows.

Any advice would be great

Thanks in advance Jamo

you could feed them some tetrabits not every day but 3-4 times a week , if the parents are of good quality then the fry should be too so maybe they need to get a bit bigger before you compare them ,

I have the exact same circumstances, and was also told to start feeding Tetra-Bits by LFS.

Have only been doing for a week and have noticed a slight improvement in colour.

Am intrested to see any further hints here.

Jim

I am having the same dramas with my yellow juveniles. Not up to the standards of the adults.