New to cichlids

secaboy

Hi all i'm Chris and i'm new to cichlids. I have a 90ltr tank with at the moment just 2 fish.... One Electric Yellow and one Acei.

What is the best food to feed them and what else can i pu twith them with out them killing each other.

Thanks,

Hi Chris, welcome.

Depends how big your 2 fish are.Male or female?

90 Lt is not very big so you may just add more of the same.

some catfish?,

Some good flake food, pellets etc but best to buy a few foods and mix them.

Try looking at the shops above, plenty to choose from.

John

could also add a couple of electric blues an a few bristlenose and try feeding them brine shrimp and or blood worms available from most lfs

Electric blues can grow 20cm+. Much to big for a small tank. I would so some research on smaller, more peaceful mbuna and compile a list of your interests. Variety is good with food. I feed my staple dry foods with occasional froZen/live foods like brine shrimp.

Both of my fish are about 4cm and i think there males. i was told only to feed them with only alge crisps as they could blote die and poison the other fish...

I wanna get some BN's for my tank but not sure what size to get them

Where can i get some brine eggs to breed and feed my other fish ( Ghost Knife, Tetras ect )

Edited by secaboy

Malawi Bloat is an important consideration in what you feed your Africans. I use New Life Spectrum Cichlid Pellets and vege flakes. Some make their own food or use flake (have a browse of the DIY section). My BNs are now about 5cm but were grown elsewhere before they went in at 4 cm.

Enjoy the research and join in the fun.

Both of my fish are about 4cm and i think there males. i was told only to feed them with only alge crisps as they could blote die and poison the other fish...

I wanna get some BN's for my tank but not sure what size to get them

Regarding your question as to what to feed your fish; this can be a highly contentious question, believe it or not.