Introduction

Nathan

HI all, Just thought i'd post to make myself know. I am new to tropical fish and I have decided to go with cichlids, I have a 4 foot tank with ehiem 2213 external canister filter, full pine cabinet and hood painted gloss black, 4 foot aqua one light (unsure of what globe) substrate is some sort of gravel (came with the tank), I have made some caves and things with terra cotta pots. I will post pics up soonish, I'm just setting things up and looking to stock saturday arvo, Weird thing was the Ph went straight past 7.6 after been cycling less then 24hrs (Where I live tap water is perfectly neutral). Could the be because I am using second hand substrate and filter?? either way its perfect Ph, usure of GH/KH and nitrite/nitrate levels yet, I will be testing them tonight. Well anyway just thought id say HI.

Cheers

Nathan

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hell and welcome from another Cichlid newb. The people here are highly knowledgable and helpful.

Wow thats softer than Sydney water. What do you plan to buffer with? How are you accelerating the cycle?

well tested the GH and was around 11 unsure if thats a tad to high, ammonia was zero as was nitrite, the KH test didnt go blue just went straight to yellow so thats was strange