Buying used Matrix media

sofiko

To cut costs, I'm looking at purchasing some used matrix media.

Are there any risks with doings so? - like it being previously contaminated with medications/chemicals.

The seller had been using the matrix in his marine tank, for a while.

Are there any other problems to think about?

Interesting way to get a tank to cycle. Where can you get used matrix? Are you putting the matrix in a marine or fresh tank?

I am running a second hand tank with used live rock in the filter from a marine tank. the tank will be for Afrincan Cihclids. For whatever reason nitrites have been high. Today I added sand and did an 80% change. Nitrites are zero and Ammonia 0.25 ppm.

Someone else here has used live rock and has an early ammonia spike.

You could always run it with bleach, activated carbon and purigen followed by lots of safe to get rid of the bleach to be ultra sure. BTW I am a complete newb so research what I say.

To cut costs, I'm looking at purchasing some used matrix media.

Are there any risks with doings so? - like it being previously contaminated with medications/chemicals.

The seller had been using the matrix in his marine tank, for a while.

Are there any other problems to think about?

If you used "live rock" from a marine tank and add it to a fresh water tank you will get a massive ammonia spike. Everyhing that is living in the roack will die and very quickly.

Live rock has no place in a fresh water aquarium.

matrix is just a media that provideds a massive surface area for bateria to grow on. There are a heap of cheaper alternatives out there. Years ago we used to use Scoria. Its was cheap and readily available.

Josh

By "matrix"media I assume you mean Seachem Matrix

anything secondhand can harbour pathogens and so will

require being made safe

as per cpfc's comment bleach and flush a few times

you could look at baking it in an oven also then letting it

cool down before flushing again