what should I breed?

Roquen

Hi everyone

I am new to cichlids and wanted some advice on what breed i should decided on for breeding (and selling ). What is a wanted breed around at the moment?

I have a 2 foot tank - will this be ok for fry? and I am considering a 3-4 foot tank as the display tank for the adults when they arent making babies :-)

Any tips on what breed, how many to house in there, any other compatable fish for the display and anything else you think I might need to know!

Thanks in advance

Vanessa

Hi Vanessa

on this site there is section - cichlid profiles you could browse this section to get an idea of the different types .

2ft tank is fine for fry, the overall size of the display tank depends on the fish you end up choosing

Hi Vanessa -

Welcome to the SCP forums.

There are lots of fish (cichlids are the most diverse group of freshwater fish).

What are your main interests / requirements?

colour? behaviours? tank mates?

etc.

Hi, thanks for the replies so far!

I totally adore fish in general so am not that picky on thing like colour and so on.. What is a good beginner type cichlid to start with that is relatively easy to breed? My lfs man suggested I start breeding him some Johanni ( M. Interruptus) or the P. Zebras.. any thoughts on those?

i think maybe a pair of convicts, or yeh like the lfs says, zebras would be good, as these fish are good for beginers. well thats my opinion, try to find out fish that are hardy and wont get stress out too easily.

hmmz.. johanni

they can get out of hand, i mean their aggression, you might lose fish males might kill females and vice versa. so therefore i'd stick to the zeabra. how ever it is up to you, johanni arnt very popular here so gettin rid of babies might take a while, but that goes for the zeabras as well. but for starters dont go into fish that is demanded by the people here as they can get quite expensive and might need more experience to take care of.

hope i am helping smile.gif